RSS Feed

Mini Eggnog Cannoli

Mini Eggnog Cannoli

Because Santa is tired of “nibbling” your break-n-bake monstrosities.

Eggnog1

After much encouragement from my awesome librarian friends, I decided to get my butt back in gear and start posting more cannoli creations. I’ve also got to thank them for this perfectly festive flavor idea. It is also, of course, finals week for this girl. Since I always manage to get really into working out, baking, or cleaning during that particular point in the semester (hmm…wonder why?) I couldn’t see a reason to NOT make these. I have to confess, though, I cheated: I bought pre-made mini cannoli shells. Actually, my wonderful fiance bought them for me on his way home from work, but I digress. If you can find them prepackaged, they will save you a lot of time and effort, not to mention spare your hands and arms from grease burns.

Filling

16oz Whole Milk Ricotta (“Part-skim on Christmas? Blasphemy!”)

1 Tb nutmeg (or more to taste)

1 cup confectioner’s sugar

1 tsp rum extract (or if using real rum, add a shot for yourself)

Mix it all together and it seal it in a container. Use immediately or let sit in the fridge overnight for maximum flavor payoff.

Shells

24 pre-made mini cannoli shells

1 cup white chocolate chips

assorted sprinkles

wax paper, parchment paper, or freezer bags

Melt chocolate chips in the microwave in 15 second increments on 50% power. Mixing the chocolate chips as they start to sweat helps to spread the heat evenly and temper the chocolate a bit. Make sure you have a completely clean bowl and stirring utensil or your chocolate will bloom and turn into a disgusting chalky mess. Dip each end of the shell in chocolate and place on a sheet of parchment, wax paper, or on top of an unopened, flattened freezer bag. Dust with sprinkles of choice and let them sit out until the chocolate hardens. I usually wait to fill these until I’m about to eat them to prevent the shells from getting soggy. I’ve used anything from a grapefruit spoon to a cheese knife to fill a cannoli in a desperate situation. For these, I filled the corner of a sandwich bag with the filling mixture and snipped the corner of said bag with a pair of scissors to make a pseudo pastry bag.

One response »

  1. Joerippel@yahoo.com

    Ho Ho Ho!

    Joe Rippel Phone:1-847-612-8111

    >

    Reply

Leave a Reply

